Programming

My past semester, I got an introduction to what I’d like to call the 1’s and 0’s, or programming. Computer Science is learning a new language, and though it may be an unconventional language to learn, it yields many benefits in our world.

Yesterday an article was published in Education Week about the lack of diversity in the pool or students who took the AP Science exam. Considering the way I benefited from my meager introduction to it, I was troubled that high school students were not taking advantage of the course.

This recommendation will not increase diversity within the next few years, but I hope that it can make an impact on the students several years from now. A book, Python for Kids is a fun, interactive way to learn computer programming. Consider purchasing it for yourself and he children in your life!

Information about it is here.

20140111-105954.jpg

Photo is from nostarch.com

Leave a Reply

